St. John’s wins Prep State Wrestling Championships

Share this article:Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
0Email this to someone
Share on Google+

The St. John’s Mavericks wrestling team won the 2017¬†Texas Prep State Wrestling Championships¬†held in McKinney, Texas on Feb 4. This event included 22 teams from private schools in Texas and Oklahoma. The Mavericks finished with 170 points, besting Bishop Lynch, the team that ousted the Mavericks at the state duals two weeks ago.

Other SPC teams also made strong showings: All Saints’ placed 3rd, Kinkaid placed 7th, and St. Mark’s and Episcopal rounded out the top ten at 9th and 10th, respectively.

The following SPC wrestlers placed in the top four in their weight class:
Will Wood, St. Mark’s, 1st, 106
Will Dumigan, Casady, 2nd, 106
Brighton Huynh, Kinkaid, 3rd, 113
John Goettee, Kinkaid, 2nd, 120
Tucker Ribman, St. Mark’s, 1st, 126
Kian Steppe, Casady, 4th, 126
Will Skinner, St. John’s, 4th 132
Ivan Day, St. Mark’s, 4th, 132
Layo Laniyan, St. John’s, 1st, 138
Hunter Balk, All Saints’, 2nd, 145
Noah Chan, Kinkaid, 1st, 152
Grham Stanush, Oakridge, 1st, 160
Steven Perez, Episcopal, 2nd, 160
Dani Yan, St. John’s, 3rd, 160
Peter Chen, St. John’s, 2nd, 170
Holdon Fricks, All Saints’, 1st, 182
Jack Podsednik, Episcopal, 3rd, 182
Matthew Mercado, St. John’s 4th, 182
Caleb Silvia, All Saints’, 1st, 195
Michael Meaux, St. John’s, 4th, 195
Colin Lawler, Kinkaid, 1st, 220
Grayson Mann, All Saints’, 4th, 220
Josh Thomas, St. John’s, 2nd, 285
Charles DeLaRosa, All Saints’, 3rd, 285